Pádraig ‘Dandy’ Kelly

Pádraig ‘Dandy’ Kelly, one of Galway’s long-serving players of the 1980s, sadly passed away in November 2001.

Kelly won 5 Connacht SFC medals during his inter-county career (1982, 1983, 1984, 1986, 1987).

Kelly’s record in Connacht SFC finals

  • 1982: Galway 3-17 Mayo 0-10
  • 1983: Galway 1-13 Mayo 1-10
  • 1984: Galway 2-13 Mayo 2-09
  • 1986: Galway 1-08 Roscommon 1-05
  • 1987: Galway 0-08 Mayo 0-07


During his career, while Galway were dominating in Connacht, they were unlucky outside the province, losing 4 All-Ireland semi-finals & 1 All-Ireland SFC Final during his inter-county career.

  • 1982 lost semi-final to Offaly, 1-12 to 1-11
  • 1983 lost All-Ireland final to Dublin, 1-10 to 1-08
  • 1984 lost semi-final to Kerry, 2-17 to 0-11
  • 1986 lost semi-final to Tyrone, 1-12 to 1-09
  • 1987 lost semi-final to Cork, after a replay.
  • Drew 1-11 apiece, before Cork prevailed 0-18 to 1-04 in the replay.


The sudden and untimely death of Pádraig Kelly on 17th November 2001 was one of the saddest days in Maigh Cuilinn GAA club’s long history. Pádraig was a well-respected teacher, an outstanding footballer and an all-round sportsman. His dedication to the club as a player and as secretary was exemplary. He played for Galway in all grades and gave sterling service to the county.

Pádraig’s sons Sean & Paul have followed in his footsteps, by wearing the Maroon & White of Galway, while Eoin is also a member of the Maigh Cuilinn panel. They have also enjoyed considerable success on the basketball court.

GALWAY, Connacht S.F.C. winners 1986. At back, from left: Gerry Dolan (St Grellan's, Ballinasloe), Brian O'Donnell (Mervue-Ranmore, later Salthill), Padraig (Dandy) Kelly (R.I.P.), (Maigh Cuilinn); Pat Comer (Salthill-Knocknacarra, later An Cheathrú Rua), Rory Fahy (Maigh Cuilinn), Michael Brennan (St Grellan’s, Ballinasloe), Gay McManus (Milltown), Séamus McHugh (Headford). In front: Brian Talty (Tuam Stars, later Parnell’s, Dublin), Aodán Ó Sé (An Cheathrú Rua), Enda Guerin (Salthill-Knocknacarra), Tomás Tierney, captain (Milltown); Val Daly (Mountbellew-Moylough), John Fallon (Tuam Stars), Barry Brennan (St Grellan’s, Ballinasloe).