Maigh Cuilinn through to the 2023 County Final

Well, that sure was tense.

Maigh Cuilinn 0-11
Mountbellew Moylough 0-9

We took an early lead through Dessie’s accurate kicking, but after a good start, Mountbellew-Moylough defended very tightly and gave up little space. They drew level and at half-time, it was all to play for.

In the second half, Maigh Cuilinn’s defence was excellent. In an intense, physical game, scores were hard to come by, but some super scores from range from Peter, Michéal, Johnny and Owen created the gap on the scoreboard we needed.

Mountbellew-Moylough chased a goal in a nerve-racking final few minutes, but with Andrew being solid and Dave, Eoghan, Seán & Tom heroic at the back, there was only going to be one winner.

Well done to all. Onto the final!

Scorers for Maigh Cuilinn: Dessie Conneely 0-6 (0-3f, 0-1m), Seán Kelly 0-1, Owen Gallagher 0-1, Micheál O’Reilly 0-1, Peter Cooke 0-1, Johnny Moloney 0-1.

Scorers for Mountbellew-Moylough: Eoin Finnerty (0-4, 1m), Barry McHugh 0-2, Michael Daly 0-1, Paul Donnellan 0-1, Gary Sweeney 0-1.