Moycullen joy in claiming maiden Galway football title

Moycullen 2-12 Mountbellew/Moylough 1-11

Dessie Conneely kicked 1-09 as Maigh Cuilinn won their first Galway senior football title on a 2-12 to 1-11 scoreline following a pulsating county final at Pearse Stadium.

Conneely cracked a brilliant goal shortly after the restart, but midway though the second half a penalty from Eoin Finnerty had pulled Mountbellew/Moylough level, but a brilliant second goal from Conor Bohan six minutes later gave Maigh Cuilinn the decisive score to kick on to the win.

There was a very strong wind to deal with for both sides throughout at Pearse Stadium, and after winning the toss Maigh Cuilinn captain Dessie Conneely decided to play with it at their backs from the start.

It only took Maigh Cuilinn 30 seconds to kick the first point when Conneely swapped passes with Neil Walsh to score, but following a foul on the industrious Paul Donnellan, Barry McHugh kicked the levelling free at the other end.

Mastering the condition was very difficult for both sides, but Mountbellew/Moylough would have been delighted with their play in that opening half. Into the teeth of the wind they showed great patience around the half forward line to wait of the opening inside, with Michael Daly and Matthew Barrett in particular taking plenty of time to make the correct decisions.

In the Maigh Cuilinn attack the aim was to get the ball in quickly, but unlike their semi final win over Tuam Stars, Walsh was not able to claim any offensive marks, but in Conneely he had the game’s brightest forward. His points in the fourth and seventh minutes put them ahead, but Mountbellew/Moylough took over ahead of the water break.

Three in a row from Barry McHugh and an Eoin Finnerty brace – the first from a mark – had them 0-5 to 0-3 ahead and while a Conneely 45 at the other end halved that advantage Corofin’s conquerors continued to impress.