Galway Minors

Well done to the Galway GAA minors who beat Sligo GAA in the championship this evening.

Pictured are club players Sean O’Connor, Charlie Cox & Padraic McNeela.

Match Report from Galway Bay FM

Galway’s minor footballers made it two wins from two in the Connacht Championship on Friday (29th April), effectively securing a provincial semi-final spot.

Goals from Jack Lonergan, Stephen Curley, Éanna Monaghan and Olan Kelly gave the Tribesmen a buffer ahead of next week’s (Friday, 13th May) showdown with joint leaders Mayo.


Scorers – Galway: Éanna Monaghan 1-6 (four frees), Colm Costello (0-4, three frees), Jack Lonergan 1-0, Stephen Curley 1-0, Olan Kelly 1-0, Owen Morgan 0-2.

Scorers – Sligo: Ronan Niland 0-5 (four frees), Ryan Gillespie 0-1, Robert O’Kelly-Lynch 0-1, Dillon Walsh 0-1.

Galway: K Gilmore; A Colleran, R Flaherty, V Gill; M Mannion, C Trayers, R Coen; J Lonergan, S McGlinchey; S Dunne, E Monaghan, O Morgan; S Curley, C Costello, C Cox.

Subs used: P McNeela for Mannion (40 mins), O Kelly for Dunne (50 mins), C Molloy for McGlinchey (54 mins), L Carr for Curley (58 mins), C Dolan for Coen (60 mins).

Sligo: D Henry; R O’Hehir, O Conlon, D King; A O’Hara, T Ross, T Bailey; R Gillespie, R O’Kelly-Lynch; C Walsh, R Niland, C Carty; E Rooney, D Walsh, S O’Neill.

Subs used: C Flynn for O’Neill (HT), J Foley for Carty (46 mins), A Mullen for C Walsh (52 mins), R O’Callaghan for Bailey (60 mins).

Referee: S Corcoran (Mayo)