Return of the City League Competition

The City Leagues originated in Spring 1957. It was the brainchild of Diarmuid Leahy, a diligent GAA Cork man and a member of the Fr. Griffin GAA club. At the time, he felt that there was neglect of Gaelic games in the city and he called a public meeting for people of similar opinion in the Imperial Hotel, Eyre Square on a Monday night, January 6th 1957 and on that historic date, the City Leagues were formed.

Initially, the City Leagues consisted of teams in the heart of Galway city. Teams such as Bohermore 98s, Western Stars, St. Augustines, Fr. Tom Burkes, Fr. Lally’s to name a few. Over the years, the leagues expanded and Salthill, St. Michael’s, Fr. Griffins, became prominent clubs in the leagues. Furthermore, St. James’ joined the fold as two separate clubs, Renmore GAA & Mervue GAA.

In 2014, The City Leagues were relaunched and with this came new teams. Galway urban areas were included in the Leagues and among these were Oranmore Maree, Claregalway, Barna and Moycullen.

In 2018, the City Leagues fell dormant until some recent weeks when a group of like-minded people re-spawned the City Leagues. Yesterday, players from St. James’, St. Michael’s, Salthill Knocknacarra, FGEO, Moycullen, Killannin, Oranmore Maree and Claregalway gathered and relaunched the leagues in the heart of Galway city.